Our asbestos experts help schools and businesses comply with air pollution laws regulating asbestos and materials containing it. The Air Quality Control Commission's Regulation 8, Part B governs asbestos abatement in Colorado. The Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission's Regulations Pertaining to Solid Waste Disposal Sites and Facilities, 6 CCR 1007-2 Part 1, Section 5, governs the disposal of asbestos waste and the management of asbestos contaminated soil in Colorado.
Effective September 1, 2020, the Indoor Environment Program of the Air Pollution Control Division (Division) will no longer accept checks, credit cards (in person or over the phone) or money orders for services rendered by the Division. All payments will need to be made directly through the CDPHE payment portal (https://cdphe.colorado.gov/payrevenue)
Please read these instructions before completing transactions through the payment portal
Before you submit any application to the Division you must first access the CDPHE payment portal and follow the below instructions to complete your financial transaction for the application(s). Upon completing your transaction through the payment portal, you will receive a payment receipt confirmation in your email. Please attach a copy of that receipt to your application for which you are seeking service(s) and submit both the documents to the Division by email:
For asbestos or lead abatement notification: firstname.lastname@example.org
For demolition applications: email@example.com
For asbestos or lead abatement certification: firstname.lastname@example.org
Asbestos permit fees
Single Family Residential Dwelling Notice - $60.00 Single Family Residential Dwelling 30 day permit - $180.00 Single Family Residential Dwelling 90 day permit - $300.00 Single Family Residential Dwelling 1 year permit - $420.00 Public & Commercial Notice - $80.00 Public & Commercial 30 day permit - $400.00 Public & Commercial 90 day permit - $800.00 Public & Commercial 1 year permit - $1,200.00 Multiphase Processing fee - $80.00 Permit Transfer - $55.00 Demolition Notice* - $50.00
- *plus per 1,000 square foot - $5.00
- General Abatement Contractor (initial) - $2,000.00
- General Abatement Contractor (renewal) - $1,000.00
- Worker - $125.00
- Supervisor - $250.00
- Project Designer - $250.00
- Building Inspector - $175.00
- Air Monitoring Specialist - $250.00
- Supervisor/Project Designer - $275.00
- Building Inspector/Management Planner - $275.00
- Retest (per occurrence) - $125.00
- Lost Card (per card) - $25.00
- Training Provider - initial course material review, per discipline* - $250.00
- Training Provider - renewal, per discipline* - $100.00
- *plus per student fee - $10.00
- Asbestos Consulting Company - $500.00
- Asbestos Laboratory - $250.00
- General information
- Asbestos bans
- Renovation and demolition
- 100 Questions:
- The regulated community has worked with us to compile a list of the most commonly asked questions about Regulation 8
- The document contains far fewer than the 100 questions its title implies.
- To have a question posted in the “100 Questions” document, email it to us: email@example.com
- Colorado Environmental Professionals Association
- Website for the Colorado insulation and abatement industry.
- To be included in or removed from our email notification list, email the Asbestos Compliance Assistance Group: firstname.lastname@example.org
- CDPHE Asbestos Inspection Flowchart
- CDPHE Asbestos Brochure
Certification and Training
Individuals who do not possess current Colorado certification to work in the asbestos industry are required to comply with the requirements of Colorado Regulation No. 8, Part B, Sections II.C and II.D. prior to performing asbestos-related activities in single-family residential dwellings, schools, and public and commercial buildings. The state certification is in addition to the required federal accreditation through a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency- approved training course.
The Division has resumed certification examinations for all asbestos disciplines for individuals whose certification(s) expire after July 15, 2022. Individuals whose certification(s) expired prior to July 15, 2022, and who are eligible for recertification, must apply for recertification before September 15, 2022. Applicants who apply after that date must sit for the examination for their respective discipline(s) prior to being recertified in Colorado. Please contact email@example.com for more information.
All certification examinations are scheduled on a first come-first served basis to ensure adequate seating.
The Division recommends that applications for renewal be submitted at least 30 days prior to the certification expiration date to avoid any interruption in the employment status.
To become certified in Colorado, you must:
1. Apply to us using the Application for Asbestos Certification for Individuals.
2. Submit the appropriate fee via the payment portal at https://cdphe.colorado.gov/payrevenue
3. Supply us your training certificate(s) from your EPA-approved training course. Training certificates from asynchronous on-line training classes are not accepted in Colorado.
4. Email us the requested documents to: firstname.lastname@example.org
5. Pass the appropriate state exam for the discipline in which you want to be certified.
After successfully completing the state exam, people seeking Worker or Supervisor certification will be issued an Asbestos Photo Identification Card.
Air Monitoring Specialists, Building Inspectors, Management Planners and Project Designers will receive a certificate.
Any company wishing to conduct abatement of friable asbestos-containing materials must become a General Abatement Contractor before starting any work.
Certified individuals, consulting firms, laboratories & disposal sites
Training courses and upcoming exam schedules
- Asbestos training providers
- Asbestos training provider approval requirements
- Exam 2023 schedule and information for Denver, Grand Junction, and Pueblo.
- Certification Test Results
Notification and Permits
Demolition notifications and abatement permits
- You must provide notification for all demolitions of all facilities (see definition in Regulation 8, Part B) and all asbestos abatement projects that exceed the trigger levels, whichever is the lesser quantity.
- The notification requirements apply to both friable and nonfriable asbestos materials.
- You must obtain a permit for the abatement of friable asbestos projects where the quantity of asbestos-containing material to be abated exceeds the trigger levels, whichever is the lesser quantity, and the work is in an area of public access.
- You must provide notification of activities that will disturb asbestos contaminated soil.
- Asbestos abatement policy statements
- Asbestos Notification Period Guidance
Notification and permitting
- Abatement notification and permit application | In MS Word
- Demolition notification application
- Notification and permit modification | In MS Word
- Multiple phase project schedule
- Variance request
- Project manager waiver
- Single family residential dwelling area of public access opt-out
- Abatement inspection compliance checklist
- Request for Asbestos Inspection Exemption
- Major Asbestos Spill Notification
- Request for Waiver of the 10-Working Day Notification Period
Certification and training
- Individual Asbestos Certification application
- General Abatement Contractor Certification application
- Air Monitoring Specialist candidate on the job experience
- Training provider registration
- Training provider notification
- Training provider class confirmation listing
- Asbestos Training Course Instructor Renewal Application
- Asbestos Training Course Instructor Initial Application
For consulting firms and accredited laboratories
Asbestos contaminated soil disturbance
Go to environmental cleanup guidance and policy
Notification of regulated asbestos contaminated soil disturbance form
Solid waste regulations Section 5.5: asbestos contaminated soil
Managing asbestos in schools
We're designated by the governor's office to oversee asbestos management plans for all public and private nonprofit schools in Colorado.
In 1995 the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency granted Colorado a waiver to completely administer and enforce the Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act regulations within the state. We're responsible for maintaining the management plan files and inspecting schools to make sure they comply with the regulations.
On January 22, 2021, the Air Quality Control Commission adopted the proposed revisions to Colorado Regulation Number 8, Part B. Some of the revisions require information to be submitted on new forms. The Air Pollution Control Division (Division) is working to draft these forms and will soon be soliciting feedback from the regulated community.
The revised regulation took effect on March 17, 2021.
Copies of the revised regulation can be found on this web page under the Section
headed “Other Information”
Presentation to the Colorado Environmental Professionals Association April 15, 2021
The Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform is currently conducting a sunset review of the Colorado Asbestos Control Act. Analysis is
performed to determine if the Act is necessary and should be continued, modified, or repealed. To provide input on this review, please
Air Regulation 8, Part B
- Regulation 8. Part B: asbestos
This version of Regulation 8, Part B included links to make it easier to navigate. The entire regulation is also available below.
Regulation 8, Part B: Asbestos (amended Jan. 22, 2021, effective March 17, 2021):
Regulation 8, Part B: Asbestos (amended Dec. 21, 2007, effective Jan. 30, 2008):
- 2005 Significant Changes to Reg. 8, Part B.
- 2004 Significant Changes to Reg. 8, Part B.
- 2003 Significant Changes to Reg. 8, Part B.
- Reference documents
- Asbestos inspection and report requirements.
- Sampling miscellaneous materials.
- Colorado Revised Statute Title 25, Article 7, Part 5.
- Environmental Protection Agency § 61.150.
- EPA Green Book - Managing asbestos in place.
- EPA Pink Book - Asbestos in buildings: simplified sampling scheme for friable surfacing material.
- EPA Purple Book - Guide for controlling asbestos-containing materials in buildings.
- EPA Silver Book - Measuring airborne asbestos following an abatement action.
- NIOSH 7400- Asbestos and other fibers by PCM.
- Standard for waste disposal for manufacturing, fabricating, demolition, renovation, and spraying operations.
- Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA) Model Accreditation Plan (2011).
- Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA) (2010).
- Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA), (2010 1995) Subpart E, 40 C.F.R. Part 763, section 1, and Appendix E to Subpart E.
FAQ-Revised Reg. 8
Solid waste regulations 6 CCR 1007-2 Part 1, Section 5
Indoor Environment Program Records:
The Indoor Environment Program can provide information on permitted or noticed abatement
and demolition projects. The following is a link to get to the Air Pollution Control Division (APCD) records department https://cdphe.
The Indoor Environment Program no longer publishes a list of enforcement cases. If you would
like the Program to research a particular case or Company, please contact the APCD Records
Unit for information and pricing (if applicable).
For the latest in information on handling wildfire ash and debris, please visit CDPHE's Office of Preparedness and Response webpage.
Marshall Fire Response
As response to the Marshall Fire moves into the recovery phase, the Air Pollution Control Division and the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division have developed guidance to manage the debris left behind by the total or partial destruction of buildings. Please open the following links for either residential dwellings or public and commercial buildings/residential buildings with more than four dwelling units. These documents only provide guidance on managing debris from buildings.
- Debris Guidance
- Marshall Wildfire (R) Handout
- Marshall Wildfire (P & C) Handout
- Disposal Notification Form (P & C) Marshall Wildfire
- Disposal Notification Form (R) Marshall Wildfire
- Marshall Fire Landfill Update
The Boulder Office of Emergency Management is taking point on recovery efforts and debris management. They will have additional information on the management of damaged or destroyed vehicles, household hazardous waste, vegetation debris management and other site considerations or requirements. We encourage you to reach out to them at https://www.bouldercounty.org/disasters/wildfires/marshall/ for the latest information and guidance.