EMS system sustainability task force


The first meeting of the EMS system sustainability task force is Thursday, Aug. 18, 2022, at TBD. Task force member appointments are listed below. See the meeting documents folder for agendas and other meeting materials. Attendance is virtual-only via Zoom meeting. 


On June 1, 2022, Governor Polis signed Senate Bill 22-225, the “Ambulance Service Sustainability and State Licensing” bill, into law. The new law creates an EMS System Sustainability Task Force to make statutory, rule and policy recommendations for how to preserve, promote and expand consumer access to emergency medical services in the state, including the development of standards for state licensing of ground ambulances and the preservation of local county authority to contract with and authorize licensed ground ambulances operating in their jurisdictions.

The task force will meet on the third Thursday of every month. The first meeting is tentatively scheduled for Aug. 18, 2022. Meeting agendas will be posted on this page as the first meeting date approaches.

Task force phases

  • Phase 1 - Regulatory structure for ambulance service oversight and a report on the state of emergency medical services in Colorado
  • Phase 2- Inequity and disparity in access to EMS in Colorado
  • Phase 3 - EMS Workforce recruiting & retention
  • Phase 4 - Financial sustainability of the statewide EMS system
  • Phase 5 - Long-term sustainability of the statewide EMS system

Task force membership

Requirements and appointing authority are defined in Senate Bill 22-225. The following individuals have been appointed to the task force.

Name Role
Senator Rachel Zenzinger Senator
Representative Mark Baisley Representative 
Cherilyn Wittler EMS & Ambulance Service Agency (1 of 4)
Gina Carr EMS & Ambulance Service Agency (1 of 4)
Christopher Williams EMS & Ambulance Service Agency (1 of 4)
Scott Van Slyke EMS & Ambulance Service Agency (1 of 4)
Jeremy DeWall Board Certified EMS Physician
James Robinson EMS Provider
Lisa Ward EMS Provider
Annie Dorchak Community Integrated Health-Care Service Agency
Sean Caffrey Group Representing EMS Providers
Tim Dienst Chair of SEMTAC
Pending Group Representing Fire Chiefs
Matthew Sammond Group Representing Professional Fire Fighters
Daniel Barela Group Representing EMS Educators
Brandon Daruna Group Representing Special Districts
Sean Wood Group Representing County Associations
Mike Freeman Group Representing County Associations
Barbara Huber Group Representing Municipalities
Elaine McManis CDPHE Representative