All non-federal facilities using x-ray machines for any purpose must:
Have their machine initially and periodically inspected by a registered qualified inspector. Inspection frequency varies from 1 to 3 years and is specified in Table 2-1 of Part 2, Section 126.96.36.199 of the regulations depending on the machine type/use.
Initially and annually register with the x-ray certification unit at the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
Changes to x-ray facilities also require notification to us through completion of the proper form(s) specified below.
Facilities that use radiation machines to expose humans or animals for medical or veterinary purposes are considered Healing Arts facilities. All other uses are considered Non-Healing Arts. Both facilities use the same registration form.
Renew, register or update your x-ray facility information
R-4 application for registration of x-ray facility
Opening a new office or location that uses x-ray machines. (We charge a $50 fee at the time of your new registration.)
Renewing or updating your annual x-ray facility registration. (We send out a $50 facility registration fee February of each year.)
Installing a new x-ray machine or adding a new x-ray imaging suite or location.
There are other changes to your registration information such as a change in address, change in ownership, or change in the radiation safety officer. Notifications of registration information must be made within 30 days.
When completing the R-4 Registration form you must make sure your entries are accurate. The information you input will be the information imported into the x-ray database. Incorrect entries could result in future compliance issues.
Once you submit the registration form, a copy will be emailed to the radiation safety officer specified on the form (or on file with us).
Remove an x-ray machine from service or close an x-ray facility
Complete when x-ray machines are:
In storage, machine can be energized if connected to power source. The account will remain active, registration and annual fee still applicable. Certification Evaluations (R59-1) do not need to be performed while unit is in storage.
Disabled in storage. The machine has been made physically inoperable.
Transferred, sold, or traded in.
Disposed of or recycled.
Facility is closing.
Failure to notify us in a timely manner of x-ray machines no longer in use may require continued registration notifications that may result in monetary penalties.
Find a registered service company, qualified expert or inspector to provide services to your X-ray facility
You must keep copies of all facility and machine certification evaluations, radiation machine purchase and repair documents, and all correspondence with us about your registration.
Before installing an x-ray machine in new or existing facilities, contact a Colorado approved qualified expert to learn if a shielding evaluation is required.
Select a Colorado registered service company to perform the installation of your machine. All sales, installation and servicing of your x-ray machines must be performed by registered service companies.
Colorado registered qualified inspectors
Once installed, your x-ray machine must be initially certified by a Colorado-approved qualified inspector, and periodically after that at the frequency required by Section 2.5.2 of the regulations.
Search qualified inspectors for the following categories:
- All registered qualified inspectors for verification.
- Qualified inspectors, all categories.
- Qualified inspectors for dental machines.
- Qualified inspectors for industrial machines.
- Qualified inspectors for veterinary machines.
- List of approved registered medical physicist.
- List of approved registered medical physicist in mammography.
Facilities intending to perform healing arts screening
Complete the form and submit to the x-ray certification unit.
Healing arts screening:
Means the exposure of any human being using an x-ray imaging system for healthcare purposes when such a test is not specifically ordered by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts. The formal definition is found in Part 6 of the regulations.
May include using x-ray systems or imaging for body fat analysis, computed tomography cardiac, lung or colon screening, screening using fluoroscopy, or certain research.
Healing arts application instructions.
Entities coming from out of state to perform healing arts screening on a temporary basis should contact us as additional requirements may apply.
Radiation monitoring waiver requests
Some facilities using X-ray machines may request a waiver to stop or propose an alternative to using radiation monitoring (dosimetry) badges to monitor the occupational radiation exposure of individual employees.
The facility must:
Not be using fluoroscopy, computed tomography (excluding dental cone beam computed tomography), or radiation therapy X-ray systems.
Demonstrate that worker exposure is not likely to exceed 10 percent of the occupational dose limits of the regulations by providing either:
Six months of recent personnel dosimetry data.
A review from a qualified expert.
- Submit form R-400 dosimetry waiver request.
- Review the radiation safety program each year to ensure no changes were made that would increase the radiation exposure levels for workers such as significantly more X-ray machine use, adding or relocating X-ray machines, or remodeling of an X-ray room, all of which may void a waiver.
Customer technical assistance for questions concerning x-ray and mammography