Maximize your returns! File your taxes securely and for free at GetAheadColorado.org.

 
0

Laws and policies - Medical Marijuana Registry

#FFFFFF

Available languages: Español

#FFFFFF

Constitution

Medical marijuana statutes and bills

Board of Health

Colorado Medical Board Policy

Records disposition schedule

Information about how long the department keeps records.

#FFFFFF

Records disposition schedule 


We keep records and documents according to this schedule. It was approved in 2018 by the State Auditor, State Archivist, and CDPHE Record’s Liaison Officer.


Patient documentation

Record type  Retention period
Application documentation Keep for one year from the registration date.
Denial documentation Keep for 6 months after the date of the denial notification.
Revocation documentation Keep for one year from the date of revocation notice.
Subpoenas/appeals Keep until litigation ends.


Any records that are subject to litigation holds are kept until the hold is lifted, even if the matter has been resolved.

Caregiver documentation

We keep this information for one year from the registration expiration date. 

This includes registration identification and other caregiver demographic information. 

The Colorado Department of Revenue’s Marijuana Enforcement Division keeps other caregiver information, such as grow site addresses and plant count information.


CDPHE Physician documentation


Record type

Retention period
Registration identification and information, including the physician license and DEA certificate. Keep until the physician’s registration expires, or until they are no longer recommending medical marijuana.
Physician certifications (written by physicians about patients) Keep one year from the certification expiration date.
Physician referral packet and correspondence sent to the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies Keep for 5 years or until it is no longer needed, whichever is shorter. The complete file is kept at DORA.
Physician referral log Keep permanently.

Legal citations 

Complete physician referral packets and correspondence files are permanently kept at DORA. Archives 17-21.

Law enforcement documentation


Record type

Retention period
Online verification logs Keep for 180 days for reference.
Visitor logs Kept one year for reference.
Customer assistance log Keep permanently.

Customer service logs 


Record type

Retention period
Call logs Keep one year for reference.
Visitor logs Kept one year for reference.
Customer assistance log Keep permanently.

Legal citations 

SARMM 4

Accounting documentation 

This includes copies of checks and money orders, deposit slips, documentation of bad checks, etc. We keep these for 3 years and then destroy them. 

Legal citations 

SARMM 7-D1

Petitions for debilitating conditions

This includes petitions to the executive director for debilitating conditions to be added to regulations, and the Executive Director’s decision letters. We keep these permanently. 

Program policies and procedures

We keep this until they are superseded or abolished. We keep superseded or abolished versions of policies and procedures for two years. 

Legal citations 

SARMM 1-10B

Reference files

These are documents used for reference which are not part of any other record series and includes reports, studies, special compilations of data, trends, and analysis. We keep these as long as we have an administrative need. 

Legal citations 

SARMM 1-12


You can view the full Records Disposition Schedule on the State Archives website

#FFFFFF

For questions related to marijuana enforcement and MED regulations (such as METRC, point of sale, licensed center requirements, plant count and grow regulations), please contact the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Marijuana Enforcement Division.