Test my home
- If your home was built before 1978, there may be lead-based paint in your home. Renovation or demolition of these homes can create lead dust which can be inhaled or eaten. Even houses not under renovation for demolition can contain peeling, chipping, or cracking lead-based paint.
- Hire a certified lead paint inspector
Contact information for Colorado lead inspectors that will test your home for lead-based paint.
- Hire a certified lead-based paint abatement professional
- Test for lead in your pre -1978 residence
Test my child
The only way to know if a child has lead poisoning is to have the child tested for lead because symptoms are not visible. It is important to test children when they are young so they can get the right treatment if they have come into contact with lead.
Lead poisoning is diagnosed using a blood test that measures how much lead is in a person’s blood. All children with increased risk of lead exposure should be tested.
- Children under the age of three are at greatest risk from lead poisoning.
- Health care providers can provide blood lead testing. Some low-cost health clinics also provide lead testing.
- If a child has high levels of lead in their blood, you will work with a health care provider to get the medical care needed and make the necessary changes to the child’s environment to prevent further lead poisoning.
For health professionals
Colorado’s lead screening guidelines
Lead screening recommendation resources(NEW! Updated Jan. 2019):
Colorado does not recommend universal testing for all young children. Instead Colorado recommends targeted testing for lead levels in blood based on responses to a risk-based questionnaire. If the the questionnaire indicates a high risk for lead poisoning, children should be tested at 12 months and 24 months of age, using either a capillary or venous blood specimen.
Colorado has adopted CDC's guidance on case management for lead. At levels 20 µg/dL or higher, call the Rocky Mountain Poison &, Drug Center for consultation services / medical treatment at 303-739-1123 or 800-332-3073.
This guide is intended to help local public health agencies and healthcare providers make decisions about follow-up and case management of children with elevated blood lead levels.
Blood Lead Levels (BLLs) have been a reportable condition in Colorado since 1997. Under the state’s reporting law, all laboratories performing blood lead tests are required to report the results of those tests directly to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
- If age >,18, report blood lead levels ≥5μg/dL within thirty (30) days of result.
- If age ≤18, report all blood lead levels as follows:
- blood lead levels <,5μg/dL within thirty (30) days of result.
- blood lead levels ≥5μg/dL within seven (7) days of result.
- Must include the following information:
- The disease or condition being reported,
- Patient's name, date of birth, sex, address (including city, county, and phone number),
- Physician's name, address and telephone number,
- Specimen type, collection date, result date, numerical result in μg/dL.
- Make sure you are set up for Electronic Lap Reporting by contacting CDPHE's Electronic Laboratory Reporting Coordinator at 303-692-2025 or by email at: Andrew.Horvath@state.co.us
For providers using LeadCare II machines
- Download Magellan's LeadCare II Colorado-specific LeadCare Reporting Software and User's Guide.
- Submit the results using the format described in the Colorado Reporting Software User's Guide to CDPHE via the following method:
- If you are unable to use the Lead Care II Colorado Specific Reporting Software, but are still interested in submitting results electronically, please contact CDPHE's Lead Program: email@example.com
If you are unable to use one of the methods described above, you may fax your lead test results to 303-782-0338.