Program Approved Service Agency (PASA)


A Program Approved Service Agency (PASA) is an agency that has been approved to provide direct community-based services to individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities approved for Medicaid waiver services. 

  • Developmental Disability means a disability that is manifested before the person reaches 22 years of age, often attributed to neurological conditions when such conditions result in significantly impaired intellectual functioning and/or adaptive functioning.

PASAs may provide approved services through the Home and Community-Based Services for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (HCBS-DD,) Home and Community Based Services Supported Living Services (HCBS-SLS), and Home and Community Based Services, Children’s Extensive Services (HCBS-CES). 


Learn how to become a Program Approved Service Agency (PASA)

This course will help you understand how to become a program approved service agency.


Additional PASA services

Home and Community Based Services Waiver for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (HCBS-DD) 

  • Intellectual and Development Disabilities (DD) waiver services.
  • Individual residential services and supports (IRSS)
  • Professional services
  • Day habilitation services and supports (DHSS)

Home and Community Based Supported Living Services (HCBS-SLS) and Children’s Extensive Support Waiver (CES) services

  •  Home and Community Based Supported Living Services (HCBS-SLS).

  • Children’s Extensive Support Waiver (CES) services. 

Health Care Policy and Financing (HCPF), Office of Community Living Communication briefs

Communications from the Health Care Policy and Financing (HCPF) Office of Community Living regarding services and supports for older adults and adults and children across disabilities.