Industrial hemp manufacturing is allowed in Colorado. Operators who manufacture foods, dietary supplements, or cosmetic products containing industrial hemp must be able to demonstrate that the industrial hemp ingredient comes from an approved source, conforms to the standard of identity established in statute, and meets the thresholds for THC. The State Health Department’s Hemp Program regulates and inspects all hemp manufacturing operations in Colorado. Industrial hemp farms are licensed and regulated by the Colorado Department of Agriculture, once the crop leaves the farm it is this department’s responsibility to oversee the manufacturing, packaging, warehousing, and distribution of hemp products. This includes extractions, any additional processing, and the relabeling or repackaging of all industrial hemp containing food, supplement, and cosmetic products.
Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) §35-61-101(7) defines industrial hemp as: "... a plant of the genus cannabis and any part of the plant, whether growing or not, containing a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of no more than three-tenths of one percent on a dry weight basis.”
6 CCR 1010-21, adopted by the Board of Health on February 17, 2021; effective, April 14, 2021.
May 14th, 2021 policy on Delta-8, Delta-10, THC-O, THC-V, and other chemically modified cannabinoids.
Monthly updated list of approved sources for industrial hemp operators. A listing of all registered manufactured food businesses that are active.
Click on Sign Up first to create an account. You will need your invoice number, starting with EHS.
Wholesale Food, Industrial Hemp, and Shellfish registration renewals were mailed on May 23, 2022.
Registration process changes for new applicants
Effective September 1, 2021 the process for submitting and processing a manufactured food, storage facility, or industrial hemp facility application changed.
- All applications require a non-refundable $100.00 application fee, payable by check or money order. We cannot accept cash.
- Please send the application fee only when submitting an application.
- Applications will be processed by the department. Then we will provide you with an invoice for the remaining registration fee, payable by check or money order. We cannot accept cash.
- Once you pay the remaining registration fee, we will issue your registration for a new facility.
The registration fees are:
- Facilities with Gross Annual Sales above $150,000 or any industrial hemp facility - $300.
- Facilities with Gross Annual Sales below $150,000 - $60.
- Brewery, winery, spirit distillery, and grain storage - only a $100 non-refundable application fee.
- Non-profit organizations must provide proof of tax status and have no application or registration fees.
Industrial hemp resources
Registration is specific to the owner and location. It is not transferable or prorated. If you started a new business, there is a change of owner or if the physical address of the facility changes, please submit a new application and fee. CDPHE does not register operations that are producing marijuana infused products. You need to contact the Department of Revenue, Marijuana Enforcement Division. You can download and fill out the PDF registration form on your computer or mobile device.
How to update your contact information
If the physical address of the facility and the owner did not change and you need to update your contact information (mailing address, email, phone number, trade name), please fill out the contact information change form.
Hemp products that are in compliance and manufactured by CDPHE-registered facilities can now be sold at retail marijuana facilities. For more information, please see the 2020 Department of Revenue compliance tip "Industrial Hemp Product," dated May 20, 2020.