Colorado law (Board of Health rule 6 CCR 1009-2) requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases, unless an exemption is filed.
- Medical exemptions only need to be submitted once.
- Parents of students in preschool or child care will submit exemptions at each age when vaccines are due. The rule requires filing a non-medical exemption at 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 12 months and 18 months of age. Students in grades K-12 must submit a non-medical exemption annually.
- Options for submitting medical and non-medical exemptions can be found on the Vaccine exemptions page.
Schools and child care centers are required report immunization and exemption data for their enrolled students to us by Jan. 15 of each year. We share this information with the public through our website in the spring of each year. Guidance for child cares and schools to calculate immunization and exemption rates is posted here.
Parents wishing to review scientific, evidence-based information about vaccines can view our education module. The module describes the benefits and risks of vaccinations and provides many resources for parents.