Colorado Senate confirms Colorado Board of Health members

Hide Featured Image
Jessica Bralish, Director of Communications |303-691-7870 |
DENVER — The Colorado Senate confirmed six members of the Colorado Board of Health during the 2019 legislative session. The Colorado Board of Health is a nine-member board appointed by the governor. The board’s primary duties are to adopt public health standards, approve funding for public health grant programs and advise the department on public health matters.Board members represent all areas of the state and have a broad range of public health, health, and environmental health expertise.
“We’re pleased to welcome the new members to the board and appreciate the continued service of the reappointed members,” said Jill Hunsaker Ryan, executive director of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. “They bring considerable skills and expertise that will help us address our priorities in protecting the health and environment for the people of Colorado.”
Members confirmed by the Colorado Senate on April 26 include:
  • Kendall Alexander of Congressional District 4, who has expertise in substance use disorder and behavioral health, local public health and community partnerships, and health information technology.
  • Tom Butts of Congressional District 7, who has expertise in environmental health and science, emergency preparedness and local public health. After serving as director of environmental health for the Tri-County Health Department, he has supported numerous other local public health efforts.
  • Commissioner Ron Engels, who is an at-large member and Gilpin County commissioner. Along with local government expertise, he ensures rural and small community experiences inform board decisions.
  • Dr. Ray Estacio of Congressional District 1, who works for Denver Health and brings expertise in community health with an emphasis in cardiovascular disease.
Members confirmed by the Colorado Senate on April 16 include:
  • Dr. Evelinn Borrayo of Congressional District 2, who is affiliated with the School of Public Health and brings expertise in health disparities in the prevention, control and treatment of cancer among medically underserved Latinx communities.
  • Dr. Daniel Pastula, who is an at-large member and assistant professor and director of neuroinfectious diseases at CU Anschutz. He brings expertise in neurology, infectious disease and emergency preparedness and response.
These board members will serve with three members previously appointed and confirmed:
  • Pat Hammon of Congressional District 3, who currently serves as the board’s vice president. Hammon is a registered nurse and also serves on the state’s Veteran Affairs Board. Along with continued service to veterans, she has hospice, nursing and home-based health services experience. She represents rural and small communities and shares local government innovation efforts.
  • Shawn Turk of Congressional District 6 is an expert in environmental law and policy, occupational health and safety, and LGBT health and health equity.
  • Matt VanAuken of Congressional District 5 currently serves as the board’s president. He is the chief operations officer of Developmental Pathways. He bring human services experience and reviews regulations from a provider and licensed business perspective. His contributions are informed by his service to individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, their families and their communities.
The Colorado Board of Health meets monthly. Information about board meetings is available on the Board’s web page.