Colorado Chemical Demilitarization Citizens' Advisory Commission (CAC)

About the Colorado Citizens’ Advisory Commission

Citizens' Advisory Commissions were created as part of the National Defense Authorization Act in 1993 for states in which low-volume chemical weapons stockpiles are stored. These states included Indiana, Kentucky, and Maryland. Citizens' Advisory Commissions have since been established in each of the other states that maintain chemical weapons stockpiles as well. These states include Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Oregon, and Utah.

The Colorado Citizens' Advisory Commission consists of nine members—seven are members of the community at-large and two are state officials. The Governor appointed each Citizens' Advisory Commission member to serve an unlimited term at his, or his successors’ discretion. Although the Colorado Citizens' Advisory Commission receives limited federal funding from the Department of Defense to cover administrative costs, it operates independent of Army influence.

The Colorado Citizens' Advisory Commission is a forum for community involvement and provides a vital link between the Pueblo community and the Army by providing a forum for exchanging information about chemical weapons disposal. It exists to represent community interests. The Army's top priorities for the Chemical Stockpile Disposal Project are safely disposing of the chemical weapons stored at the Pueblo Chemical Activity in Pueblo, Colorado, and providing meaningful opportunities for the public to be involved in the project. The Army recognizes that public participation in the Chemical Stockpile Disposal Project is critical to its success; there are still many decisions to be made, and many opportunities for the public to influence those decisions.

The Colorado Citizens' Advisory Commission meets with a representative of the Secretary of the Army at monthly public meetings to discuss the Chemical Stockpile Disposal Project, its impact on Colorado and the Pueblo community, and the interests of the public.

The Army invites you to contact one of the Colorado Citizens' Advisory Commission members to discuss the Chemical Stockpile Disposal Project and ways to become involved in the decision-making process.

Meeting information

The next meeting of the Citizens' Advisory Commission is scheduled June 26, 2024 at 3pm. 
The meeting will be held virtually. To join the meeting:
Computer:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84351934182
To join by phone, call: 1 (719) 359-4580
                                   Meeting ID:  843 5193 4182#

Meeting minutes

The list that follows includes finalized meeting minutes. Minutes are not posted here until the Citizens' Advisory Commission has approved them. For previous meeting minutes, or the status of unposted minutes, please contact the commission administrator listed below.

Commission roster


Local appointed members

Irene Kornelly, chair
1602 Clemson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
(H) 719-591-5157
(C) 719-330-2359
Fax: 719-591-1305
Velma Campbell
140 West 29th Street, #348
Pueblo, CO 81006
(W) 719-542-1615
Frank "Jason" Castro
3230 Tod Street
Pueblo, CO 81005
(H) (719) 545-5845
(C) (719) 406-3104
Russell DeSalvo
P.O. Box 11467
Pueblo, CO  81001
O - (719) 320-1926
C - (719) 320-1926
Kenneth Griffin
4735 Katahdin Lane
Pueblo, CO 81004
(H) 719-676-3411
(C) 719-565-8760
Terry Hart, vice chair
29685 Hegler Court
Pueblo, CO 81006
(H) 719-948-0071
(C) 719-821-8877
John Norton
319 West Orman Avenue
Pueblo, CO 81004
(H) 719-543-3741


State appointed members

Mark Honnen, Deputy Chief of Staff
Office of the Lieutenant Governor
200 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80203
Colleen Brisnehan
Hazardous Waste program manager
Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
(Metro) 303-692-3357
(Toll free) 888-569-1831, extension 3357
Fax: (303) 759-5355

Support Personnel
Commission administrator
Venissa Ledesma
303-692-3432, or toll free (888) 569-1831, extension 3432